2018 Bursary Categories
2018 Commerce Bursaries
2018 Accounting Bursaries
2018 Agricultural Science Bursaries
2018 Computer Science & IT Bursaries
2018 Construction & Built Bursaries
2018 Drama Bursaries
2018 Education Bursaries
2018 Engineering Bursaries
2018 General Bursaries
2018 Government Bursaries
2018 Law Bursaries
2018 Marketing Bursaries
2018 Masters Bursaries
2018 Media Bursaries
2017 Medical Bursaries
2018 Music & Performing Arts Bursaries
2018 Nursing Bursaries
2018 Pharmacy Bursaries
2018 Postgraduate Bursaries
2018 Psychology Bursaries
2018 Safety Management Bursaries
2018 Science Bursaries
2018 Tourism Bursaries

Enter Your Email below and Get bursary updates (It’s Free)

NOTE: Please check your inbox for a verification message e-mail.

Department of Tourism Bursary South Africa 2018 – 2019
January 10, 2017 Accounting Bursaries


The Department of Tourism is one of the many departments of the government in South Africa. The department is lead by Derek Hanekom, Minister of Tourism. The aim of the Department of Tourism is to develop and promote tourism, both within South Africa and from other countries to South Africa.


Bursaries will be awarded to students studying within one of the following fields:

  • Communication Science/ Media Studies/ Journalism
  • Economics
  • Human Resource Development
  • International Politics (Honours)
  • Law
  • Public Administration
  • Public Relations Management
  • Tourism Management

The bursary programme is not applicable to The National Department of Tourism employees.


Applicants must satisfy the below minimum criteria before applying:

  • South African citizen,
  • Studying full-time in one of the aforementioned fields of study,
  • Studying at a recognised South African tertiary institution.



Download and complete the Department of Tourism Bursary Application Form (pdf).

Alternatively, the latest application forms can be downloaded at or collected from the reception area of the National Department of Tourism.
The following documents must accompany the application form:

  • ID document (certified copy),
  • Proof of qualifications (certified copy),
  • Recent academic records and/ or Matric results (certified copy),
  • Confirmation of registration (if registered with tertiary institution),
  • Proof of household income (payslips – if parents are employed) OR affidavit (if parents are unemployed),
  • Admission letter,
  • Research proposal (Honours and Masters degree students),
  • Motivational letter.


Complete application forms must then be submitted in one of the following ways:
1) Post:
The Director-General
Private Bag X424
2) Hand-delivered:
Tourism House
17 Trevena Street
Attention: Mr Welcome Tshabalala OR Mr Loyiso Sobandla


15 January annually


For any bursary queries, please contact:
Mr Welcome Tshabalala
Tel: 012 444 6183
Mr Loyiso Sobandla
Tel: 012 444 6158

Comments are closed